Afghan Biographies

Behsudwal, Khalil Ahmad Dr. Prof.

Name Behsudwal, Khalil Ahmad Dr. Prof.
Ethnic backgr. Pashtun
Date of birth
Function/Grade Chancellor Nangahar University (NU)
History and Biodata

1. Former Chancellor Nangahar University:
Dr. Amanullah Hamidzai (20061217, 2007)
Mohammad Saber Mohammad Sabir (2009, 20121029, 20141008)
Prof Muhammad Tahir Inayat Mohammad Tahir Enayat (20141009, 20150405)
Professor Emeritus Dr. Khalil Ahmad Behsudwal (19780412, 20230202)

Vice Chancellor:
Prof. Ihsanulla Nasih (2023)

Other office holders at Nangarhar University:
Dean of ‘Engineering’ faculty Nangarhar University:
Arifulah Mandozai 
Dean of ‘Computer Science’ faculty:
Engineer Mohammad Yusuf Mohmand

The Nangarhar University is the second largest university in Afghanistan, founded in 1963. The main campus is located to the north west of historic city of Jalalabad, the capital of Nangarhar Province. The university has eleven faculties, namely, Shariah, Civil Law and Political Science, Engineering, Agriculture, Economics, Veterinary Sciences, Education, Literature and Languages, Medical, Computer Sceince,  and Sceince,This is the only university for four provinces in eastern zone; however, 60% of the students come from provinces other than these four provinces.

The Medical, Computer Science and Education Faculties are located in Jalalabad city, while the remaining Eight Faculties are placed in Daronta, 11 kilometers away from Jalalabad city. The Medical Faculty is the first Faculty of Nangarhar University. This university developed and established three other faculties, Engineering, Agriculture, and Education in 1978. This University developed into five Faculties by establishment of Faculty of Literature and Languages in 1985. The Faculty of Economics, Law and Political Sciences, Shariah, and Veterinary Sciences established in the year 1993 and it has  13 Faculties right now and these are: Medical Sciences, Agriculture, Engineering, Education, Literature & Languages, Economics, Islamic Studies, Journalism, Veterinary Sciences , Law, Political Sciences, Computer Science, and Sciences.  Currently, around 15.400 students are studying in the Nangarhar University and around 1000 graduate each year. The number of new enrolments reaches to 1500 per year and persistently increases by 15%.

There are 8 three storey buildings as dormitory for round about 3250 students in Daronta, one two floor building for around 500 students in Education Faculty and one in the Medical Faculty. Nangarhar University has the following numbers of  Lecturers and students:

  • Total Number of male Lecturers  are 327
  • Total Number of female Lecturers are 15.
  • Total Number of male students 6800
  • Total Number of female students 1220.
  • Total Number of students in hostel 3000.

Nanagarhar University has two partnerships with San Diego State University in the field of English Program and Engineering. These partnerships has provided the opportunities for curriculum design and capacity building. The partnerships are funded by Streghthening Higher Education Program (SHEP) a World Bank Project. World Bank through SHEP will provide $10 Million for the physical and capacity building of the University under Afghanistan Reconstruction Trust Fund.

Distance between Nangarhar University Main Campus and Education Faculty is about (11km), and the Distance between Education, and Medical Faculty's campus is about (2km).

Physical dimension of each campus:

  • Daronta Campus of Nangarhar University is 160 hectars
  • Education Faculty is of 4 hectars
  • Medical Faculty is of 3 hectars
  • Computer Science Faculty is of 3 hectars

    2. Previous Function:
    Chancellor Nangahar University (NU) (20230202)

    3. Biodata:
    Prof. Emeritus Dr. Khalil Ahmad Behsoodwal


Last Modified 2023-03-11
Established 2023-03-11