Afghan Biographies

Afghan Government - Taliban Negotiation Team

Name Afghan Government - Taliban Negotiation Team
Ethnic backgr.
Date of birth
Function/Grade Names as of (20200312)
History and Biodata

Six members of the seven-member Wolesi Jirga panel, picked to be part of the negotiating team with the Taliban, happen to be supporters of President Ashraf Ghani’s State Builder team and only one is from Dr. Abdullah Abdullah’s camp. Of them, three persons hail from Herat province, two from Kunduz and one each from Nimroz and Bamyan provinces. Four of the lawmakers are Tajik, one each is Uzbek, Hazara and Baloch.

President Ashraf Ghani Ahmadzai, asked the Meshrano Jirga to introduce its two senators -- one woman and one man – to be part of the negotiation team Mrs. Amina Safi Afzali and Ustad Mohammad Akbari and urged the Wolesi Jirga to elect five lawmakers, including two women and three men. Wolesi Jirga on Wednesday Mar 11, 2020 picked Abdul Raouf Ibrahimi, Qazi Nazir Ahmad Hanafi, Ghulam Farooq Nazari, Mrs. Faridah Hamidi and Mrs. Fatima Aziz as their representatives for upcoming peace negotiations.(Fatima Aziz, Farida Hamidi, Abdul Rauf Ibrahimi, Mohammad Nazeer Hanafi and Ghulam Farooq Nazari)

Last Modified 2020-06-11
Established 2020-03-12