Afghan Biographies

Disqualified Candidates Elections Decision Aug 22, 2010

Name Disqualified Candidates Elections Decision Aug 22, 2010
Ethnic backgr.
Date of birth
Function/Grade Names and Provinces
History and Biodata

Electoral Complaints Commission (ECC) 20100822 announced the removal of 10 more people from the list of parliamentary eelctions 2010 candidates for failing to resign government posts, said ECC spokesman Ahmad Zia Rafat. The 10 disqualified candidates are

Haji Abdul Ghafoor and Muhammad Saleem from Helmand, Noor Ahmad and Nadira Nahreenwal from Baghlan, Dr. Mahira Muhammad from Parwan, Muhammad Hashim Niazi Sangar, Haji Sadaqat Zahid, Syed Enayatullah Hofyani and Abdul Rahman from Kabul.

The names of about 62 aspirants have so far been struck off the list due to their failure to quit government positions and sever ties with illegal armed groups, according to the official. The election commission has banned six candidates from the September 18 parliamentary elections as they had failed to quit their government jobs, an official said Monday. Those delisted include Aasfa Shams, from Kabul, Karima Kohistani from Kapisa, Zamin Poya from Daikundi, Parveen Sadat from Logar, Fauzia Younisi Kakar from Zabul and Muhammad Hashim Garani, according to Noor Muhammad, spokesman for the Independent Election Commission.

The election law says a candidate must quit their government job prior to nomination. (2010802) The Electoral Complaints Commission (ECC) disqualified four parliamentary candidates from the final list of 18 September parliamentary election candidates. Haji Sadaqat Zaheer, Eng Syed Muzaffaruddin, Dr Tajwar Khan and Syed Aqa Noor were disqualified for failing to resign their Government jobs, said an ECC member on 20100816.

Last Modified 2011-04-10
Established 2010-08-24