Afghan Biographies

11 member negotiating team Afghan government

Name 11 member negotiating team Afghan government
Ethnic backgr.
Date of birth
Function/Grade Peace Negotiators Names as of 20190219
History and Biodata

Abdul Hakim Munib, a member of government’s negotiating team, which was formed 2018 in November, said the team “represents all ethnicities, languages, and parties” and that the team was formed after many consolations.

The incumbent 11-member negotiating team of the Afghan government include: 

Salam Rahimi, President Ghani’s Chief of Staff;
Mirwais Balkhi, Education Minister ;
Hasina Safi, Minister of Information and Culture;
Dr Alema, Deputy Minister of Refugees and Repatriation;
Abdul Tawab Balakarzai, Deputy Minister of Higher Education;

Gen. Ebadullah Ebad, a senior official of the NDS;
Abdullah Attai, member of the Supreme Court;
Shahgul Rezaee, MP ;
Attaullah Ludin, Ulema Council member ;
Shamin Katawzi, Paktia Governor ;
Tooryalai Ghiasi, Head of Cultural Affairs at Ministry of Foreign Affairs.


“The Afghan government should create a team in which forces from the outside government are also involved in it so that we can sit with the Taliban for peace talks from a united front,” said Sima Samar, Chairperson of Afghanistan Independent Human Rights Commission.

Other critics said the peace negotiating team needs to be inclusive and that it should involve those politicians who attended the Moscow talks – earlier this month.  “Numerous politicians gathered in Moscow talks. The expectation is that such people are included in the structure of the team,” said Nazar Mohammad Mutmaen, a political affairs analyst. 

“The Afghan government needs to establish a national and inclusive team ahead of the Doha (Feb 25, 2019) talks,” said Bilal Ahmad Niazi, an analyst. 

This comes a week after President Ashraf Ghani Ahmadzai called for a grand consultative Jirga, a traditional assembly, on the peace process in the country. Ghani said the Jirga will be convened within a month.(in March 2019)


Last Modified 2019-02-19
Established 2019-02-19