Afghan Biographies

Acting Ministers with vote of no confidence (as of May 26, 2

Name Acting Ministers with vote of no confidence (as of May 26, 2
Ethnic backgr.
Date of birth
Function/Grade Names
History and Biodata

Wolesi Jirga (Lower House of Parliament) removed seven ministers over development budget spending issues in November 2016. The Ashraf Ghani Ahmadzai / Abdullah Abdullah government rejected parliament’s decision and sent the case to the Supreme Court to interpret the constitution regarding the termination of cabinet members. However the Supreme Court has not yet issued a ruling.
The seven ministers who failed to receive votes of confidence from the lawmakers include Foreign Affairs minister Salahuddin Rabbani, Labor and Social Affairs minister Nasrin Oryakhail, Public Works minister Mahmoud Baligh, Education minister Assadullah Hanif Balkhi, Transport and Civil Aviation minister Mohammadullah Batash, minister of Communications and Information Technology Abdul Raza Wahidi and Higher Education minister Farida Mohmand.
Currently, the Ministry of Information and Culture Mohammad Rasool Bawari and the Ministry of Borders and Tribal Affairs Abdul Ghafour Lewal are also run by acting ministers.(20170526)

Last Modified 2017-05-26
Established 2017-05-26