Afghan Biographies

Afghan governors under Karzai appointed based on political d

Name Afghan governors under Karzai appointed based on political d
Ethnic backgr.
Date of birth
Function/Grade Background and Names
History and Biodata

Afghan governors under President Karzai's rule have been appointed based on political deals (all as of 20101205).



Afghan governors representing Gulbuddin Hekmatyar are Juma Khan Hamdard, governor of Paktia, Dilbar Jan Arman, governor for Badghis, Munshi Abdul Majid, governor for Baghlan, Khwaja Ghulam Ghaws Abubaker, governor of Kapisa and Mohammad Halim Fedayee, governor for Maidan Wardak.

Abdul Rab Rasool Sayaf, a former Jihadi leader and currently leader of Islamic Unity Party has four governors including governor of Ghazni, Mohammad Mussa Akbar Zada, governor of Nooristan, Jamaluddin Badar, governor of Zabul Mohammad Ashraf Naseri and former governor of Kunduz Eng. Mohammad Omar.

General Abdul Rashid Dostum currently leader of National Movement Party has three governors including the governor for Jowzjan province Mohammad Halim Sayee, the governor for Samangan province Khairullah Anosh and the governor for Ghor province Sayed Iqbal Munib.

Most of the government seats are controlled by members of the party of Burhanuddin Rabbani. Presently Rabbani has four governors with two of them appointed with his direct support. Governor of Takhar province Abdul Jabar Taqwa, the governor of Badakhshan Shah Wali Adib, the governor of Balkh province Ata Mohammad Noor and governor of Nimrouz Abdul Karim Barahawi.

Afghan Millat Party is one of the factions with maximum influence in Afghanistan government, which is under the leadership of commerce minister, Anwarul Haq Ahadi, it said. The party has three governors including governor of Kunar province Sayed Fazlullah Wahidi, the governor of Laghman province Mohammad Iqbal Azizi and governor of Farah province Rohul Amin.

Abdul Jabar Naemi governor of Khost province, Atiqullah Ludin governor of Logar province and Gul Agha Sherzai the governor of Nangarhar province are all assigned by Pir Sayed Ahmad Gilani.

Vice President, Mohammad Qasim Fahim has facilitated the appointment of the governor of Panjshir Keramuddin Keram and governor of Parwan Province Abdul Basir Salangi.

The governors for Daikundi, Qurban Ali Urozgani and Faryab provinces, Ahmad Faisal Begzad have connections to Hajji Mohammad Mohaqiq, leader of Unity Party.

The governor of Kabul Zabiullah Mujadidi, the son of Sebghatullah Mujadidi and the governor of Sar-e pul Sayed Ali Rahmati have connections with the President Karzai’s second Vice Presiden.

The governor of Herat province, Daud Saba is close to Dr Spanta, National Security Advisor for President Karzai, it said.

It is also said that some governors are backed by foreign countries including the governor of Kandahar, Toryalai Weesa is backed by Canada, Gulab Mangal by Britain and Habiba Sorabi by US.

Each governor gets a monthly payment of 2.5 million Afghanis for their guest reception expenses and each gets a salary of around three thousand dollars per month.

Last Modified 2015-12-02
Established 2010-12-05