Afghan Biographies

Female Ministers 1965 - 2011

Name Female Ministers 1965 - 2011
Ethnic backgr.
Date of birth
Function/Grade Names Functions Years
History and Biodata

Female Ministers of the Republic of Afghanistan/De Afganistan Jamhuriat/Jamhuriat ye Afganistan/Afqanistan  1965-2011

1965-67 Minister of Health Kubrah Nourzai
The first female MP in 1964. She lived (1927-86)

1971-72 Minister without Portfolio Shafriqua Siayel
1972-73 Advisor for the Ministry of Planning
1976-78 Minister of state for Women's Affairs

1978-79 Minister of Social Affairs and Tourism Dr. Anahita Ratebzad
1980      Minister of Education
1980-86 Member of the Politburo of the Communist Party and Member of the Presidency of the Revolutionary Council (Deputy Head of State)
She was ambassador to Yugoslavia 1978, and the highest ranking woman in the parcham faction of the PDPA, she is well known as an expert propagandist and companion of President Babrak Karmal. She also obtained an MD degree from Kabul University in 1963. Her former husband, Dr. Qamaruddin Kakar used to be Zahir Shah's personal physician.. (b. 1928-)

1990-92 Minister of Education Masoma Esmati Wardak

1990-92 Minister of Social Security Saleha Faruk Etemadi

2001-02 Deputy Premier Minister and Minister of Women's Affairs Dr. Sima Samar
2002-06 Cabinet Member and Chairperson of the Human Rights Commission
She was appointed Deputy Leader of the Transitional Council after the woman-hating Taleban-regime was ousted. 2002 Vice-Chairperson of the loya jirga - "the national grand council". She was offered to continue as Women's Minister but preferred to become Chairperson of the newly established Human Rights Commission. (b. 1956-).

2001-04 Minister of Health Dr. Suhaila Seddiqi
An ethnic Muhammadzai Pashtun related to Afghanistan's royal family, she was given the rank of surgeon general during the communist rule of Najibullah. in September 1996, she was the chief of surgery at the capital's Wazir Akbar Khan Hospital. (b. 1941-)

2001-02 Deputy Minister of Women's Affairs Tajwar Kakar Rahim
She returned to Afghanistan in 2000 after 20 years in exile in Australia, and was a member of the Loya Jirga

2002-04 Minister of Women's Affairs Dr. Habiba Sorabi

Pharmacist and Medical Teacher, in exile in Pakistan from 1996 and in 2005 she became Governor of Bamiyan (b. 1958-).

2002-04 Minister of State and Presidential Advisor for Women's Affairs Dr. Mahboba Hoqooqmal
She is a former Professor of Law at Kabul University. Also known as Mahboba Hoqumal, Mahbuba Hoquqmal or Mahbobeh Hoghogh-Mal, she was Vice-President of the Emergency Loya Jirga Commission 2002, whose task it was to convene the Loya Jirga.

2002-06 Deputy Minister for Women's Affairs Dr. Soraya Rahim Sobrang
2006 Designate Minister of Women's Affairs
Her appointment to the Cabinet was rejected by Parliament. Her name is also trancribed

as Suraya Raheem Sabarnag

2004-06 Minister of Women's Affairs Masooda Jalal

She was presidential candidate in 2002 and 2004.

2004-06 Minister of Youth Affairs Âmina Afzali

Labour and Social Affairs,

Martyrs and the Disabled

2004-06 Minister of Martyrs and Disabled Sediqa Balkhi


2006-10 Minister of Women's Affairs Hosn Banu Ghazanfar
2010-12 Acting Minister for Women's Affairs
2012- Minister of Women's Affairs
Dean of the literature and language faculty at Kabul University. The post had been been vacant since Soraya Sobrang was turned by Parliament in April. She was designated by the president to continue on the post, but this was rejected by parliament together with most of the nominated candidates, but later named Acting Minister by the president.

2006- Deputy Minister for Women's Affairs Najiba Sharif
2010 Acting Minister for Women's Affairs

2010-12 Deputy Minister and Acting Minister of Public Health Suraya Dalil
2012- Minister of Health
Preisdent Kazai nominated her twice to the Parliament and named her Acting Minister.

2010 Designate Minister of Women's Affairs Palwasha Hassan
Most of the candidate ministers proposed by the president in the second round was also rejected by parliament

2011- Deputy Minister of Public Health Naderi Hayat Borhani

Last Modified 2013-01-07
Established 2013-01-07