Afghan Biographies

ACB Afghanistan Cricket Board

Name ACB Afghanistan Cricket Board
Ethnic backgr.
Date of birth
Function/Grade ACB Officials
History and Biodata

Chief Executice Afghanistan Cricket Board:
Hamid Shinwari
Naseeb Khan Haqqani (20210920)

Afghanistan Cricket Board ACB Chairman:
Nasimullah Danish (2011) resigned (20121008)
Dr. Hamid Shinwari (20120420) returned from his higher studies in Australia Mar 2012. He was replaced by Dr. Noor Mohammad Murad, who was working for the UN in youth affairs after graduating from the Kabul Medical University. (2010-20121224)
Shafiq Stanikzai, former national team director,  (20141214, 20180122)
Lutfullah Stanikzai (20190710, 20200727) sacked because of "mismanagement, unsatisfactory performance and his misbehaviour with the board managers".
Asadullah Khan acting
Rahmatullah Qureishi (20201102)
Hamid Shinwari (20210426) second time
Azizullah Fazil (20210822)
Former national team member Mirwais Ashraf has been appointed as Head of the Afghanistan cricket board, replacing Azizullah Fazli (20211107) appointed ACB Chairman (20220117)

Director of Cricket of the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB):
Former captain Raiees Ahmadzai (35 yrs old)  replacing Englishman Andy Moles (2020082

ACB Officials as of 20200821:

Board Chairman:

Farhan Yusefzai

Board Members:
Zia-ul-Haq Amarkheil Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs

Gulalai Noor Safi, Meshrano Member, Senator

Faraidoon Elham, Ex Deputy for cultural Affairs at the Administrative Office of the President

Abdul Rahman Alokozay, Business tycoon

Mohammad Nabi, Afghan Cricketer

Mrs. Hasina Safi, Minister for Women’s Affairs

Rohulla Khanzada, Wolesi Jirga Member Kandahar

Haroon Mir, Senior Adviser to the First Vicepresident of Afghanistan


Jawad Paikar, Minister fur Urban Development

Kamela Siddiqui, Ex Deputy Minister for Commerce and Industried

Hamid Tahmasi, Ex Minister for Transport

Shukrullah Atif Mashal, Ex Afghan Ambassador to Pakistan

Former President of the Board Chairman:
Dr Omar Zakhilwal (20101222) resigned (20121008)
Ilham Yasini,
Shahzada Massoud (20121004)
Nasimullah Danish (20141214-20161216)
Atif Mashal Atif Mishal Shokrullah Arif Mashal (2016121, 20170413, 20180415), resigend
Azizullah Fazli Aziz Ullah Fazle (20180919)
Farhan Yousufzai Farhan Yusefzai (20190724, 20200728

Deputy Chairman:
Nasimullah Danish (20140529)

President’s Legal Advisor:
Dr. Abdul Ali Mohammadi (2017,2018)  Abdul Hamid Tahmasi (20180626)
Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) spokesman: 
Nusratullah Wafa (20120721) or
Farid Hotak (20180802)

Management Board:
H.E. Mohammad Ashraf Ghani,
Patron in Chief 

Mr. Azizullah Fazli, Ex Chairman

Mr. Eklil Hakimi, Board Member

Mr. Sayed Sadat Mansoor Nadiri, Board Member

Mr. Mohammad Hameed Tahmasy, Board Member

Mr. Hekmat Khalil Karzai, Board Member

Ms. Kamila Siddiq, Board Member

Mr. Faridoon Elham, Board Member

Mr. Abdul Rahman Alokozay, Board Member

Mr. Ahmad Shah Sangdil, Board Member

Mr. Asadullah Khan, Chief Executive Officer

Mr. Feroz Khan Layez, Chief Operations Officer

Mr. Dawlat Ahmadzai, Chief Selector

Mr. Lutfullah Stanikzai, Head of Media & Marketing 

Mr. Atiq Abbas, Sr. Finance Manager

Mr. Samiullah Hashmi, AMS Manager

Mr. Hamid Rashidy, Admin Manager

Mr. Zia Ul Haq Zia, HR Manager

Mr. Nasrullah Shinwari, Procurement Manager

Mr. Ahmad Shah Sulimankhil, Domestic Cricket Manager

Mr. M. Nazeem Jaar Abdulrahimzai, Game Development Manager

Ms. Tuba Sangar, Women Cricket Development Coordinator

Mr. Naweed Sayem, National Team Manager

Mr. Phil Simmons, Head Coach

Mr. Andy Moles, Junior Team Coach

Member of cricket board:
Kamila Seddiqi (first-ever female) Board member (20180626)
Hamid Tahmasi, the minister of transport (201800802)
Kamil Sediqi, the deputy minister of commerce (20180802)
(The two above appointments will take over from Abdul Ali Mohammadi, former adviser to Ghani and Salma Sadat, a national investor)

Gulalai Noor Safi, (20190611)
Ahmad Jawad Paikar (20190611)
Ziaulhaq Amarkhail (20190611)
Shukrullah Atif Mashal  (20190611)

Ex Members of cricket board (as of 20190611):
Eklil Hakimi,
Sayed Mansoor Naderi,
Jawed Sangdil,
Abdul Rahman Alokozai,
Hekmat Khalil Karzai,

Development officer for the ACB:
Nazim Jar Abdulrahimzai (20180802)


Other Officials:
Azizullah Fazli, in charge of Kabul cricket affairs was sacked for violating ACB rules (20101215).


Afghanistan Cricket Board was established in 1995. It was granted affiliate membership by the International Cricket Council (ICC) in 2001 – which marked the beginning of an incredible journey in the history of Afghanistan’s cricket. 

In 2003 the country was granted associate membership of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC).

In 2015, Afghanistan was inducted in ICC Future Tours Program (FTP) making it possible for Afghanistan to play FTP teams. Afghanistan also broke into the ICC 12-team ODI rankings. 

In the same year, Afghanistan secured victories in both ODI series in T20I series and were ranked 10th in ICC ODI rankings and 9th in ICC T20I rankings. 

Afghanistan made history by becoming the first associate nation to beat a full member nation in a bilateral series against Zimbabwe. ACB reciprocated the series by hosting Zimbabwe for the first time in both ODI and T20I series in Sharjah in 2015/16 delivering similar results.

In 2016, Afghanistan participated in its fourth consecutive ICC World Twenty20 in India and it was their qualification to the Super-10 stage in this tournament and the subsequent win against the ultimate champion, West Indies, which particularly distinguished Afghanistan’s participation in the 2016 ICC World Twenty20 from previous tournaments. 

Afghanistan U-19 participated in the ICC U-19 World Cup in Bangladesh and emerged as the Plate Champion of the tournament.

In June last year Afghanistan cricket achieved one of its biggest goals and was granted Full Member status the ICC, meaning they are now a Test-playing nation.

The chairman of Afghanistan’s Cricket Board, Atif Mashal, said in an interview with TOLOnews that Afghanistan would launch its own cricket league within the next few months. He said the league will be called the Afghanistan Premier League, and would be designed along the lines of the Indian Premier League (IPL) and other high-level cricket leagues in the world.  He said the league matches would be held in the United Arab Emirates with the participation of international players.(20170413)

Last Modified 2021-11-07
Established 2010-10-28