Afghan Biographies

Mawlawi Talib

Name Mawlawi Talib
Ethnic backgr. Pashtun
Date of birth
Function/Grade Provincial Governor Helmand
History and Biodata

1. Former Governors:
Mullah Sher Muhammad Akhundzada,
Engineer Mohammad Daud (2006),
Assadullah Wafa (2008),
Ghulabuddin Gulab Mangal (2008 - 20120919)
Maj Gen Mohammad Naeem Baloch (20120920, 20130607-20150800)
Gen Mirza Khan Rahimi (20150900-20160331)
Hayatullah Hayat (20160407-20180514)
Maj Gen Mohammad Yasin Khan (20180603, 20191130, 20200628)
Brig Gen Abdul Nabi Elham (20201105, 20210107)
Talib Mawlawi (20210914)

Deputy Governor:
Abdul Sattar Mirzakwal Satar Mir Zakwal (20090416), fired for "disgracing national traditional values" (20110326)
Ahmad Massoud Bakhtawar Masoud Bakhtawer was badly wounded in a complex attack, which took place in Gereshk district where Afghan forces will shortly be in control.(20130501)
Mohammad Jan Rasoul Yar Mohammad Jan Rasoulyar, (20141227, 20151220, 20160123 fired))
Mirza Khan Rahimi (20151221, 20160331 suspended, resigned)
Mujahidullah Sipari (20180318)
Besmullah Rohani

Governor's House Chief of Staff:
Mohammad Lal Ahmadi (20111026)
Ahmad Farid Faizi (20140328)

Security Adviser to the Governor:
Abdul Wali Shamsi (20110814)

Governor's spokesman:
Muhammad Daud Ahmadi (20110124),
Omar Zwak (20130831, 20140822, 20150103, 20160605, 20171013, 20201012) Omar Zwak was wounded in a car bomb attack. Zwak was in his office at the time and has been hospitalized.(20150318)
Abdul Salam Afghan (20171023)
Umar Shakti (20181010)

Helmand education director:
Abdul Matin Jaffar (20151119)
Helmand Education Director Qudratullah Yaqubi (20170720)
Deputy education director:
Mohammad Wali Sarhadi (20111114)
Mohammad Nasim Sapi (20130630)

Director of labor and social affairs:
Muhammad Nadir Watanwal (20120215)

Director of the refugees and returnees department in Helmand:
Ghulam Farouq Noorzai (20101229)

Public Works Department Director:
Abdul Qader Nusrat (20110617)

Provincial Traffic Department Director:
Abdul Rahman Azizi (20110617)
Abdul Ghafoor Tokhi, head of the provincial transportation department (20160621)

Provincial Telecommunication Director:
Fazil Mohammad Sapi (20110324)

Information and Culture Director:
Ali Shah Mazlumyar (20111119)
Farid Ahmad Farhang (2017, 2018)
Provincial mines department head:
Esmatullah Shams (20131211)

Taliban's shadow deputy governor of Helmand Province:
Hafiz Nasrullah (20100104),
Deputy security chief for Helmand (City?):
Mohammad Wais Samimi; before: Mohd. Wais SAMIMI, Operation Manager/Helmand 707 Zone, Ministry of Interior (20140902)

Last Modified 2021-09-14
Established 2021-09-05