Afghan Biographies

Taliban Delegation to Moscow Mar 18, 2021

Name Taliban Delegation to Moscow Mar 18, 2021
Ethnic backgr.
Date of birth
Function/Grade Background and Names
History and Biodata

The Taliban said earlier that their delegation to the consultations in Moscow would be led by Acting Deputy Prime Minister Mawlawi Abdul Salam Hanafi. Acting Foreign Minister Amir Khan Muttaqi and a number of other ministers will be among the delegation’s members.(20211018)

Taliban’s political office head Mullah Abdul Ghani Baradar will be leading a 10 member delegation to Moscow, Russia, to attend a conference on Afghanistan Mar 18, 2021. A delegation of the Wolesi Jirga will also attend international conferences in Moscow Mar 18, 2021 and Istanbul in April 2021.

A 16-member government delegation, led by the High Council for National Reconciliation (HNRC) chairman Dr. Abdullah Abdullah , will attend the Moscow meeting.(20210316)

Special Envoy to Afghan peace reconciliation, Zalmay Khalilzad is set to participate in the Moscow summit scheduled for Thursday Mar 18, 2021.



The Moscow format was established in 2017 on the basis of the six-lateral mechanism of consultations between Russian, Afghan, Indian, Iranian, Chinese, and Pakistani special envoys.


The announced Afghan delegation drew criticism on social media, notably for the lack of women on the roster amid deepening concerns that women will be left behind in a future peace with the Taliban.

In addition to Abdullah, 15 other individuals were announced to be in the delegation. These include members of the Afghan government, such as Parliament Speaker Rahman Rahmani, Senate Deputy Speaker Alam Izedyar, State Minister for Peace Affairs Sayed Sadat Mansoor Nader, and Deputy Minister for Peace Affairs Abdullah Khinjani. Abdullah’s deputy in the reconciliation council, Babur Farahmand, as well as Chief Negotiator Masoom Stanekzai are also in the delegation. Three other members of the country’s 21-member peace negotiation team are also in the delegation: Matin Bek, Nader Nadery, and the delegation’s only woman, Habiba Sarabi.

Also coming in threes: former leaders and former warlords. Former President Hamid Karzai, as well as former vice presidents Abdual Rashid Dostim and Mohammad Karim Khalili are joining the delegation. Gulbuddin Hekmatyar, the leader of Hizb-e-Islami, which signed a peace agreement with the Afghan government in 2016, will also join the trip to Moscow with two members of Hizb-e-Islami, Abdul Sattar Khawasi and Ghairat Bahir, in tow.(20210316

Last Modified 2021-10-19
Established 2021-03-15