Afghan Biographies

Taliban Negotiation Team as of 20190212

Name Taliban Negotiation Team as of 20190212
Ethnic backgr.
Date of birth
Function/Grade Names
History and Biodata

Afghan Taliban on Monday 11. Feb 2019 called for the release of Anas Haqqani, the jailed brother of the leader of Haqqani network, ahead of new round of talks with the United States later in February 2019..

The Taliban delegation is led by Sher Mohammad Abbas Stanikzai who has already been the group’s chief negotiator in talks with the US peace envoy Zalmay Khalilzad. The team includes also five former inmates of the US prison in Guantanamo Bay who were released in 2014 in exchange for a captured American soldier. Taliban said that the delegation was appointed by the group’s political deputy Mullah Baradar and following instruction by their supreme leader Hebatullah Akhundzada.

Members of Taliban negotiating team:

  1. Sher Mohammad Abbas Stanikzai
  2. Zia ur Rahman Madani
  3. Abdul Salam Hanafi
  4. Shahabuddin Delawar
  5. Abdul Latif Mansoor
  6. Abdul Manan Omari
  7. Amir Khan Mutaqi
  8. Mohammad Fazil Mazlom
  9. Khairullah Khairkhwa
  10. Matiulhaq
  11. Anas Haqqani
  12. Noorullah Noori
  13. Mohammad Nabi Omari
  14. Abdulhaq Waseeq
Last Modified 2019-02-12
Established 2019-02-12