Afghan Biographies

Ministry of Interior and Afghan National Police

Name Ministry of Interior and Afghan National Police
Ethnic backgr.
Date of birth
Function/Grade Break up of total authorized force level
History and Biodata

The Ministry of Interior (MOI) and Afghan National Police (ANP) have a total authorized force level of about 82,000. The ANP consists of six components. The largest of these is the Afghan Uniformed Police, which serve as local police and perform routine policing duties in Afghanistan's 365 police districts.

These districts are organized into five regional zones (North "Pamir Zone", East, West, South, and Central) and a sixth zone for the capital city of Kabul. According to State and Defense, the zone commanders report to the Chief of the Afghan Uniformed Police, who reports to the Deputy Minister of Interior for Security.

Detailed March 2009 break up of security forces MOI and ANP Authorized Personnel Levels:
Afghan Uniformed Police: 54.5% (44,801), Afghan Border Police: 21.6% (17,676), Ministry of Interior Headquarters: 7.3% (5,943), Afghan Civil Order Police: 6.5% (5,365), Criminal Investigative Division: 4.9% (4,009), Counter Narcotics Police of Afghanistan: 4.6% (3,756), Counter Terrorism Police: 0.5% (406).

Last Modified 2011-04-24
Established 2010-03-03